Make a Reservation
View More

Read Reviews

Below, find a selection of reviews from just some of our very happy guests.

Read Reviews (78)
(
4.19/5
) based on
78
reviews.

by Mick on Sep 4 2018 11:21

well worth a stay, hotel is very nice. rooms very clean and spacious. staff are very friendly and helpful. Food and drink are well priced ( no rip off) would have no issues staying again. The only draw back was only 5 chanels on the tv and 4 radio stations ( of which you can only listen to 2)
 
 
 
 
 

by Sinead o shaughnessy on Aug 30 2018 10:48

We had a very enjoyable stay recently.. room was amazing and was very comfortable.. the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.. We have already booked our next stay and can't wait to return.
 
 
 
 
 

by Raidy on Aug 22 2018 10:16

We really enjoyed our stay there, staff very helpful and friendly, clean and comfortable, quick check in, lovely big room. The only issue which is small, is the hairdryer needs upgrading but apart from that, excellent stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Fiona D. on Aug 19 2018 17:12

Spent 3 days in Cork. The hotel was conveniently located, the room was a great size and the food delicious - with a great choice for breakfast! Most of all the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Would definitely recommend the Commons Inn to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by Basanta on Jul 10 2018 10:26

Best location. Clean and spacious rooms. We enjoyed our stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Joe on Jun 27 2018 09:12

Was a very nice experience staying with Commons Inn. Location was easily accessible and near local attractions. Room was very comfortable with all necessary ammenities. Check in was easy and both receptionist and food and beverage manager provided helpful tips. Breakfast was the best we've experienced during our 18-day travel program. Both Mary and Anita provided excellent service. We would love to return on our next Irish vacation!
 
 
 
 
 

by ERIC on Jun 17 2018 13:51

Great atmosphere, tasty breakfast good sized clean bedroom. Definitely will return.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paula Reddan on May 10 2018 21:40

Just want to say that when we stayed recently at your hotel all the staff were very friendly and couldn’t have been nicer. The staff are a credit to your hotel and breakfast was fantastic, everything served up piping hot. Home from home. I would definitely stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sandra o neill on May 8 2018 10:10

Very happy with stay for Ed Sheeran concert
 
 
 
 
 

by Nora on Mar 15 2018 19:17

Very welcoming receptionists as always. My room was impressively clean and comfortable. The only caveat was the shower which worked well but needed a bit of tweaking to get to the right temperature (a little too powerful to start with greeting me with a freezing jet of water before it got to an acceptable temperature) but worked out in the end! The facilities of this hotel are very good providing a relaxed and friendly environment. Nora
 
 
 
 
 

by David on Mar 10 2018 10:33

Bar and restaurant food was excellent with friendly staff and if I was in Cork again I would visit again and was a credit to the hotel The room had the following issues and I would not stay again. I did ask for a room change but was told that the hotel was fully booked Window had a broken handle and did not close so lack of sleep due to noise Window sill damaged with what looked like burns One bed had long hairs on the duvet Carpet had black spots over it The three wall lights by the beds did not work The Bathroom light had a electrical socket on it which was broken and wires where showing Shower tray had black marks over it(not dirt) TV had only 4 channels and was small Wooden headboard above the bed was scratched and damaged Furniture old and scratched (Wooden) Walk to breakfast room was unappealing with the previous nights left over food plates and drinks still on tables, Didn't eat much breakfast so can not really comment on the food as when I turned the first coffee cup over it was dirty and stained ,Second one was fine but this did put me off eating,The member of staff at breakfast was pleasant and friendly. Check out was friendly but did not get asked if I enjoyed the stay etc as If I had I would of gone through these issues but my attitude was if you don't want to know then why bother although I did say that the window would not close properly when asking to change rooms. If I had been staying for pleasure and not business then I would of certainly complained I booked this hotel due to the mostly positive reviews on the internet which I guess shows most of your customers are happy with their stays. If you go through the room and check my points you will see that everyone is correct. The start rating is based on 4 stars for the bar and restaurant/Staff and 1 star for the room
 
 
 
 
 

by Peter Fawcett on Feb 27 2018 21:54

I have stayed here a number of times over the last 4 years, I have to say, never had any complaints at all, Hotel is just perfect, great location, very warm rooms, food was just perfect, and I will be staying again. Enough about the hotel its self, The staff, I meet a girl at reception wow, well done so polite and friendly, and also the girl when I was leaving. 2 different girls. There was a man on at night on the front desk who was also very friendly and helpful when I went looking for milk at 2 in the morning. The bar staff, very efficient and polite. Due to the staff that we meet nothing was to much and just 100% perfect staff that made our weekend so good. Thank you
 
 
 
 
 

by Shirley o leary on Feb 18 2018 17:45

Wedding guest : compliments the staff that looked after us friday 16/02/18 at The Lordon / King wedding in particular one of the waiters "Paul" who I have to say was exceptional, nothing was to much to ask of him, he was busy but so pleasant and helpful. Working in the catering industry myself for years I think it is important to compliment the ground staff as too often we are quick to complain but slow to compliment. please pass on my thanks to Paul and thank him for my much loved cup of coffee. Well done again Regards Shirley o leary
 
 
 
 
 

by Floss on Feb 7 2018 10:54

Simple reception procedure. Room clean if a little old fashioned, if the wood was painted and not stained it would look so much nicer ! Good parking. Helpful staff. Good value.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jay on Jan 17 2018 07:29

Room was clean and we'll equipped and staff were fabulous. I'll be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by mary on Jan 10 2018 11:14

Excellent staff, Very friendly and helpful. Great room with extremely comfy beds!! I've stayed here many times and I've never been disappointed! Great location - love it...
 
 
 
 
 

by Nora Burke on Jan 6 2018 22:07

I only spent one evening and night in the Commons Express Inn, Cork. However, I found the staff to be pleasant, courteous and efficient. I would recommend this establishment to prospective visitors and hope to return soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mary Mc Carthy on Jan 4 2018 14:10

Had a lovely break at the Commons Inn, third year in a row going there for New Year. Well done to all involved in organising New Years Eve party, it was a great night. Will be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mary on Dec 28 2017 19:29

My husband and I always stay here when visiting cork, the hotel has a welcoming feel to it. The wait staff Paul and Anne went above and beyond for us. The receptionists are very helpful with information about the city. The food is fabulous for a reasonable price!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Stella Farmer on Dec 21 2017 12:33

Brilliant hotel staff experienced and professional always helpful and informative would definitely stay here again location perfect and their food was excellent also exceptionally clean
 
 
 
 
 

by Claire Davis on Dec 13 2017 10:55

Great value hotel. Room was clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The choice of food at the bar was great and the quality was excellent. Great location too, 10 minute bus ride into town and the bus stop is right outside the hotel. I will definitely be staying here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ailish Casey on Dec 13 2017 10:46

Hi There Very disappointed with our stay.. it was a special occasion for us. the shower dripped and I got bites all over me from whatever was in the bed. Your security guard when we got in late was very rude and banged on our door all night to tell us to be quiet or he was throwing us out.. we were just finishing our bottle of prosecco that was left in the room for our anniversary. Definitely we were over priced for the conditions of the room Very disappointing, never again
 
 
 
 
 

by John Brady on Dec 13 2017 07:54

First of all let me say at the outset that in booking the Commons Inn I was looking for competitive pricing as our stay was to accommodate a working weekend in Cork. We received a very good rate for B&B and were not expecting 4 star luxury. It is obvious that the Inn is in need of refurbishment but this understandably is a major outlay and has to be planned. However, there are a number of small items that could be addressed which require little or no cost. 1. In the walk through to the breakfast room, the tables were clear but the glass tops obviously had not been cleaned. There was a member of staff cleaning windows in the far end toward the reception and perhaps the tables were due to be cleaned. As this area is one of the first things the guests see in the morning it might be an idea to re-arrange the cleaning schedule so that this area is cleaned before the guests start moving down to breakfast. 2. I note that there is a reception desk in the breakfast room that is not used as the guests are signed in at the steps down to the breakfast area. The paint and woodwork in the area of the steps needs to be cleaned and freshened up (around the first booth). 3. We found the bar very noisy and uncomfortable on our first night but I believe there was a function taking place that went on through the day. 4. We could not turn the shower off and had to get reception to arrange to have it fixed. 5. The crack in the floor tiles at reception is very noticeable and could be disguised at low cost by the application of dyed grouting to match the floor. These are all small items but they are things that guests notice and remark upon and are mentioned here only in a constructive capacity. If we were to return to the Commons Inn it would be because of: 1. Staff. Very helpful, pleasant and obviously local. 2. Food. Excellent breakfast and dinners on both days. 3. Price. Competitive price. John Brady
 
 
 
 
 

by Carol Ann Mc Intyre on Dec 3 2017 10:04

Just stayed in the Commons for 3 nights and would recommend it to anyone. The staff from reception to all the bar staff, night porters to Paul Mary and Ann in the dining room were all helpful chatty and obliging. Will be back the next time I visit Cork.
 
 
 
 
 

by Michael White on Dec 1 2017 12:55

I was very happy with my stay, short as it was. I was badly delayed on my journey from Dublin on Tuesday last by a puncture. As a result, it was after midnight when I arrived. The night porter, whom I had rung, was very helpful. The two ladies in the restaurant the following morning could not have been nicer. I had forgotten to ring and inform the kitchen that I was coeliac. When I informed the restaurant staff, they dealt with my requests without a bother. Similarly the lady at reception was friendly and professional. The only unusual aspect was that the room I was assigned, No. 119, was fitted out to be suitable for someone with a physical disability. It was clearly intended that a person takes a shower sitting down in the chair provided. Thankfully, I am not yet in need of such a facility. I found the low position of the shower a little awkward to use, therefore. I would be happy to stay again. Regards, Michael White.
 
 
 
 
 

by Nicola on Nov 28 2017 14:49

Very disappointed with our stay this year. Our room 217 was not a nice room. The ceiling in the bathroom had loads of black mould on it. The shelf beside the bed next to the window was falling off the wall and was all jagged underneath. Went for breakfast and was waiting over a half an hour for a table, then when we ordered breakfast one of the servers said to another server that the chef had cooked 3 extra breakfasts so they literally went through the double doors of the kitchen, scrapped off the mushrooms off the 3 plates and dished them onto us, cold. Staff were totally run off their feet, disorganised and a bit chaotic. We were surprised as we have stayed before and thought it was a nice hotel. The hall from reception to the breakfast room was ice cold and the front door was open so the cold was flowing straight into the breakfast room. People were sitting there with coats on. I closed the door on numerous occasions but kids kept running in/out opening it. Eventually we closed the outside door. We felt the radiators down the hall and around the hotel and none on, it was 1oc outside but it felt warmer when we went outside! The only positive was the lovely manner of the receptionist who was a great representative for the hotel. Room 217 should be closed to the public, worst I've ever stayed in for over €140 for 1 night!
 
 
 
 
 

by Del Hunt on Nov 25 2017 08:33

thanks commons inn for an awesome stay the staff were awesome and Ann and Mary really went out of there way to make sure i was well looked after and the food was amazing ill definitely be coming back here when i stay in Cork again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jessica on Nov 18 2017 10:44

The good points of my stay was that the room was clean, the room was spacious, lovely shower and close to the city centre. What I didn't like was the attitude to me asking for a quiet room like it was a crazy thing for me to ask. Main reason I asked for this was because the last I stayed there we got a room close to the road and we stayed there as my daughter had a minor procedure to get done in the hospital early the next morning and none of us got any sleep from the noise and the heat from the room. The heat in the room this time was lovely. Also, we had a room next to the loudest man and could hear all his conversations which isn't the hotels fault but the walls must be a bit on the thin side. Overall it's a grand hotel to stay in after a night out and the rooms are grand as long as you get one away from the road.
 
 
 
 
 

by Laura carmen Fernandez garcia on Nov 17 2017 09:22

Muchas gracias por su atención, un gran parking gratis y unas habitaciones enormes y limpias. Quiero hacer una mención especial a mary y ann por su gran hospitalidad en el desayuno y por su simpatía! Estuvimos enseñándoles hasta fotos de nuestra boda! Un gran desayuno que duras hasta matarse sin hambre! Muchas gracias de nuevo!
 
 
 
 
 

by Baz on Oct 19 2017 12:35

Food lovely. Staff nice. Reception very empty looking. 3 bouncers on both doors when checking in at 2pm does not give a good image to Establishment. A lot of intoxicated customers in bar when going for dinner at 5pm. Bar itself very bare also. No selection of spirits displayed. Ordered a bottle of beer and had to get glass with ice as the beer was warm. Again staff very nice but feel there seems to be some issues there when Security needed for a full day on a Sunday. Would come again for food. Really good
 
 
 
 
 

by Eugene on Oct 15 2017 13:08

Hotel facilities and staff were very good
 
 
 
 
 

by Kinski on Oct 8 2017 15:35

Lovely friendly place great staff & great breakfast Thanks
 
 
 
 
 

by Lee Farrelly on Sep 21 2017 16:40

Good hotel. Will stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by mark o brien on Sep 6 2017 21:53

the room badly needs work as does the bathroom.dinner was very good,and all the staff were great especially cian and gerard in the bar.i had just left the maritime hotel in bantry which was outstanding.hugh differance for an extra 20 euro.
 
 
 
 
 

by mark o brien on Sep 6 2017 21:38

bed room was good so was the the bathroom.cannot praise all the staff enough.
 
 
 
 
 

by Gerard Healy on Aug 22 2017 14:43

Complements to the excellent staff who made our stay so enjoyable.
 
 
 
 
 

by Tracy on Aug 18 2017 11:22

Have stayed before, will stay again, very convenient to the city centre, train station, bus station, blarney castle etc. For us it's close to our family and the best room rate you'll get. Love the breakfast and love the dinners. Very good value, and staff are fantastic.
 
 
 
 
 

by Linda May on Aug 14 2017 14:14

The hotel is in need of some refurbishment but was clean and comfortable, staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was plentiful, delicious and well cooked. It is conveniently situated on a main road with a bus stop right outside which goes into Cork and out to Blarney and Mallow, however, the hotel rooms are still quiet enough. Perfect base for exploring.
 
 
 
 
 

by Angela Smith on Aug 11 2017 09:43

Friendly helpful staff, lovely food, thanks for making it a very pleasant stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Veronika on Aug 10 2017 11:36

We stayed in Commons Inn for 2 nights with 2 kids (5 & 9) and have to say we did enjoy our stay. Food was lovely and rooms big enough for 4 of us. About 15-20 mins away from all locations we were going to visit, so no complaints.
 
 
 
 
 

by Thiago on Aug 9 2017 10:49

Price a bit high if you compare with the quality and distance to city centre. Strong smell of cigar and maybe some product to camouflage that smell. Bar is ok and the room is clean. I would give more stars if the price was better. Maybe it's due to holidays.
 
 
 
 
 

by Terri Clarke on Jul 14 2017 09:04

Lovely and friendly staff room was very clen and bed was so comfortable will definitely stay again when I'm down in Cork would highly recommend this hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Bridget Scanlan on Jun 17 2017 16:58

Both my sister and I had a great few days at the Commons Inn Hotel. It was our second visit and we will stay there again. The staff are very friendly and the food was great. We were on the second floor and there was no lift so it was hard for me on the stairs as I have a walking stick and together with a case it was hard to get up the stairs. Very close to Cork city and there is a bus stop outside the hotel if you don't want to bring the car it is ideal. Hope to stay again next year please God.
 
 
 
 
 

by Oz2 on Jun 15 2017 08:21

Good location with huge well equipped rooms. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Nice bar area with plenty of seating and good off-road parking facilities. Would not hesitate to stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Thomas Magee on Jun 13 2017 07:33

Had a great stay here it's a pity it was only 1 night Would have no problem recommending the hotel to anybody staying in Cork the staff were very friendly and will definitely stay here again
 
 
 
 
 

by Colin Huggett on May 28 2017 08:35

We arrived on a Sunday and left on the Thursday so this meant we had 3 whole days to see some of the best things around Cork City. The hotel is very well situated for this and we did Blarney Castle on the Monday, Fota on the Tuesday and an open top bus tour with a stop at Cork Gaol on the Wednesday. We found the Hotel warm and friendly, excellent staff, great breakfast and provided you don't mind a bit of noise from the busy main road would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a base from which to explore the delights around Cork City. Regards Colin
 
 
 
 
 

by Dreamgirl on May 26 2017 18:05

Love going to the Commons for food especially on a Friday after work. Food is exceptional and can always depend on Daniel to recommend food or wine. I am normally very fussy about food but the Commons will always meet my requirements. Excellent service as always.
 
 
 
 
 

by G. Mc Namara on May 22 2017 11:16

I found the hotel to represent very good value for money and would definitely stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Craig forsyth on May 10 2017 06:45

The beds were very comfy, the staff friendly and helpful. The lack of the most basic requirements in a hotel Room such as tissues, complimentary bottled water, shower taps that can be easily turned on and off, Individual toiletries. Landline telephone in rooms, 2 chairs for 2 guests per room. I dont understand why these basic things are not included as part of the room, considering the higher price we payed. Not an expensive hotel, but not value for the money. We did find the convenience of bus stops very helpful. Again the staff were all fantastic.
 
 
 
 
 

by blueford on Apr 24 2017 20:32

very well located , friendly and very helpful staff , good breakfast , good sized rooms 5/5
 
 
 
 
 

LouderVoice and LouderYou